A Star For My Girl

Picture 038

She comes a skipping a laughing,

‘Mother, a golden star for me!

Coz I have been a good girl-

And painted the whole sky blue.’

I think of the times, we paint

The whole sky red-

With our pain and hurt and rebellion-

And thirst for a gold star too.

‘The crow is black, the tree is green,

The king’s crown a golden hue.

So won’t you give your good little girl

A golden star so true?’

I grin suddenly and give a hug-

Whisper into her tiny ears-

‘Darling, I know what you really

Painted, behind the nice blue sky..’

Her eyes, twinkle, she lets me in

To her four year old secret world,

‘Mother, the sky is red, the tree is red,

I painted the earth red too…!’

And hugging her tight,

With tears in my eyes,

I give her a golden star.

Leave a Reply

