Revelations

Picture 145

1. Fever

She turns

Feverish,

Mother, it is so cold.

I feel numb too,

Hugging her,

Try to warm her

With my own self.

Later, fever down

She smiles

Mother, it is hot,

Can you move away

A bit?

I am happy

To be told to move

Away,

For the first time

In my life.

2. Cards of Life

Mother,

My team is not that good,

And I wish

I could change,

Winning will be tough

This way.

I grin to myself and think

Of the cards life gives us

To play with.

I clear my throat and say,

What matters is

How well you played with

What you were given,

Gifts, talents, teams.

She ponders, smiles

And then shrugs,

A teenage-

Whatever.

One thought on “Revelations

Leave a Reply

