Witches Ahoy!

So I was searching for a book to entertain myself with, and my elder daughter offered a dog eared copy called, ‘Which Witch”. It was by Eva Ibbotson. ” Try this ma. Bet you will be totally into it in five minutes time,” she grinned. ” I am too old for this,” I protested. ” A witch pageant ma, no less. Who would be the blackest witch of all? The end is deadly. You might find some early inspirations of Harry Potter magic in this one,” she tempted me. Suffice it to say that I indulged in it. And was absolutely fascinated by the irrepressible humour and plot of the book. The subtle wisdom, hit me in the heart. Quote: ” Happiness is almost as good as magic for altering a person’s looks.” How true! How absolutely, gorgeously, fantastically true! I hugged my girl, when I returned her book. ” Returned to safe custody. I loved it,” I said. ” Yup! Has been my favourite since  I was eleven,” she smiled. ” Would you consider giving me another book of hers?” I asked. This time , she returned the embrace. ” Ma, I told you!” she giggled. ” I want you to  read ‘ The Witches ‘with me,” said the younger one, peeved by all that attention going to her sibling. Oooh, Roald Dahl himself!

I am so into witches now. And loving it. ****

Leave a Reply

