Return Gift

image

 

I was gifted a poetry collection of Veeran Kutty on my birthday. Some gifts have to be returned; albeit in another form. So I thought, I will translate a few lines that lighted up my way, and say thank you, to the loving hands that offered the lamp to me.

Expectation( Prateeksha)

I am grateful

For the expectations you had for me,

Till now.

 

Only God knows

The difficulty, I have had

In keeping them shiny

Till now.

Now those expectations have

Become a mountain

Leaving no space within;

If you could come and take back each

It would  be rather nice.

 

I have to start

then-

Expecting ,

A few things

Of my  very own.

****

Friend ( Changathy)

Today

don’t come as rain

to make me sprout life

If tomorrow

you intend to dry me up

turning  into sunshine

****

Without any reason ( Veruthe)

Do not think

the game of

the shadow

is silly-

elongating

and

shortening

itself.

Maybe-

it is trying to get over

the suffering

of

always being

under the same

person.

****

About You ( Ninne Patti)

I

was

a  worm,

when

I

slept.

I

woke up

as

a

butterfly.

Who

kissed

me

with so much

love

in

my

dream?

*****

( All mistakes of translation are mine…😊)

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Return Gift

Leave a Reply

