This Rakshabandan Prayer…

image

The Psalm 23:4 says, “Even if I walk through the valley of shadow and death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

Today is Rakshabandan- the power of the brother’s protection as a safety charm even as the sister ties a Rakhi around his wrist.

Times of India Sacred Space quotes Sree Ravishanker:”The purpose of Rakshabandan is to remove fear from our lives. It is fear that distorts our goodness and our creativity. It shrinks our personality and badly affects our behaviour with other people.”

***

For me the Bible, the Rakhi and the meaning of the quote all merge into one prayer of gratitude- my brother.

All my life, he has protected me from harm, banished my fears, encouraged my dreams, and has been proud of me.Every step I take, even through the valley of shadow and death, his love continues to be my  constant support. No sister would have been blessed with a better brother than mine.

For you Anna, on this Rakshabandan :

Every birth, be my brother. I owe my life to you. May my life itself be the amulet around your wrist. Stay blessed always.

4 thoughts on “This Rakshabandan Prayer…

  1. Wow, Ministhy! I have two brothers and I know exactly what you mean!

    Words flow from you to inspire, educate, elevate the rest of us!

    All your books are in my library and read and re-read whenever I am looking for some inspiration.

    Wishing you the very best,
    Rajee

    Like

Leave a Reply

