Poems of Passion: Prof Veerankutty (Translation from Malayalam)

IMG_2095

1. Who said so?

Who said that

Humans cannot fly ?

Let them produce

The evidence then,

Of your feet having touched

The ground,

Ever since you fell in love.

**

2. As if unseen

Whatever you are doing-

As if unseen by anyone,

I am cognisant of it all.

My only regret:

I cannot convey it

In a language

Unheard by anyone else.

**

3. Willingness

Anyone could have come,

Instead

You chose to come yourself.

You could have come any day,

But you came today itself.

You need not have come,

Yet you came;

I got to know of it.

The seat before you

By the side of the sea shore,

Shall be bereft of my presence.

Tonight

All alone,

In that silence

Where even a foot step’s echo

Cannot intrude,

I want to reminisce

About

Your willingness

To meet me.

**

4. Unable to hide

How lovely to see your

Land!

I caught sight of a tree

In full bloom

Amidst all that green!

It was unable to hide

The spreading blush-

Like you caught unaware,

In an unexpected kiss.

**

5. Lightning

Your smile struck

Me down,

Just once!

I have died many times

Thence.

**

6.  Futile

Alone,

I climbed a hill

And stared down at the valley.

A  wandering breeze

Sent

By God,

Came by,

And tried to

Skirt around me-

In a futile effort

To compensate

Your absence.

I could not help

Laughing.

**

7. Sticker

Two life- spirits

Unexpectedly

Unite

In any love affair.

They endure

The agonised helplessness

Of being wrenched apart

When they separate.

8. Unique

I am the Fire

You

The  fragrant oil.

In the light cast about

As we

Burn together

God

Completes

A love poem.

**

8. Promise

I shall come seeking you

Forever.

Irrespective

Of the number of times

I am turned back.

I read my own promise-

In the language of the waves.

**

9. Mine

There a few things

Totally belonging to me.

God

Mind

Life

Then you.

(Ah, you mock:

‘Where are these anyway?’)

I have not seen any of those!

We are always busy,

Aren’t we-

Involved deeply

With all that  which remain

Unseen?

10. Who are you?

Who are you?

The one who is willing

To run towards

Someone like me

Who is lazy

To  put a step

Forward?

**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Poems of Passion: Prof Veerankutty (Translation from Malayalam)

  1. കവിതയോടുള്ള ഈ കമിറ്റ്മെൻറ്, ഇഷ്ടം മലയാളത്തോടുഠ നല്ല എഴുത്തിനോടുമുള്ള താല്പര്യം …വായനക്കാർ തിരിച്ചറിയാതിരിക്കില്ല തീർച്ച.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘One writes out of a need to communicate and to commune with others, to denounce that which gives pain and to share that which gives happiness. One writes against one’s solitude and against the solitude of others. One assumes that literature transmits knowledge and affects the behaviour and language of those who read…’ Eduardo Galeano, 1978 ( In defence of the word)

    Like

Leave a comment